020 7340 1159 info@shelfordgroup.org

Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Oxford University Hospitals (OUH) is one of the largest teaching hospital trusts in England. On 1 October 2015 the Trust was awarded Foundation Trust status and became Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Oxford University Hospitals is a local hospital trust for people living in Oxfordshire and the neighbouring counties and a specialist centre of excellence for people from much further afield.

The Trust consists of four hospitals – the John Radcliffe Hospital, Churchill Hospital and Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre in Oxford, and the Horton General Hospital in Banbury – and also provides services from a wide range of other community and hospital settings in Oxfordshire and the region.

In 2017-18 OUH had:

  • 1.4 million patient contacts
  • 107,371 planned admissions
  • 96,223 unplanned and emergency admissions
  • 1.3 million meals for inpatients
  • 135,964 Emergency Department attendances

And we delivered 7,500 babies!

The Trust has:

  • 1,300 beds, including 100 for children
  • 61 wards
  • 48 operating theatres
  • More than 11,500 staff, including 3,800 nurses and midwives, 1,500 healthcare support workers and 1,800 doctors.

In 2014-15 the Trust’s turnover was £1.03 billion.

The John Radcliffe Hospital includes the Oxford Children’s Hospital, Oxford Eye Hospital, Oxford Heart Centre and Women’s Centre. It is also home to the Major Trauma Centre for the Thames Valley region following designation in April 2012. The Trust is also the designated Thames Valley centre for providing new-born intensive care support to the most severely ill or premature babies.

The Churchill Hospital is the centre for cancer services and medical and surgical specialties including renal and transplant, oncology, dermatology, haemophilia, infectious diseases, and chest medicine. It also incorporates OCDEM (the Oxford Centre for Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolic Medicine).

The Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre has an international reputation for excellence in orthopaedics, rheumatology and rehabilitation. Specialist services include: children’s rheumatology, limb reconstruction, bone infection, spinal surgery, primary malignant bone tumours and sarcomas, neurological and neuromuscular disabilities.

Research Excellence
A Joint Working Agreement between the Trust and the University of Oxford provides the ability to share ideas and activities in the pursuit of excellence in patient care, research and education

Our collaboration with the University of Oxford underpins the quality of the care that is provided to patients, from the delivery of high-quality research, bringing innovation from the laboratory bench to the bedside, to the delivery of high-quality education and training of doctors.

Existing collaborations include the ambitious research programmes established through the Oxford Biomedical Research Centre (BRC), funded by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR), located on the John Radcliffe Hospital site and at the Biomedical Research Unit in musculoskeletal disease at the Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre. These set the standard in translating science and research into new and better NHS clinical care.

Chief Executive: Dr Bruno Holthof

Dr Bruno Holthof

Dr Bruno Holthof

Chief Executive

Dr Bruno Holthof has been the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Oxford University Hospitals Foundation Trust (OUH) since October 2015.

OUH employs 12,000 staff across four hospital sites and 44 other locations. Before OUH, he was CEO of the Antwerp Hospital Network from January 2004 until September 2015. During this period, he transformed ZNA into the most profitable hospital group in Belgium.

Before becoming a CEO, he was a partner at McKinsey & Company. During this period, he served a wide range of healthcare clients in Europe and the United States and gained significant expertise in the areas of strategy, organisation and operations.

Dr Holthof is a member of the Board of Armonea, a European care home operator.

He holds an M.B.A. from the Harvard Business School and an M.D./Ph.D. from the University of Leuven.